The Plunder of Phi VI Alpha

PreatorX

This is a short story I've been working on for close to five months. I've been having lots and lots of trouble with it. I know where the story is going, what's going to happen, but I just hit a wall while writing it.

A little background: this is my attempt at a science fiction story. I've tried to lean towards it being as "hard" as I can because it seems to me that hard science fiction is far more difficult to write than soft. I've made extensive use of nautical terms to help ground it in reality, and as an assumption that spaceships in the future would be an extension of marine vessals now.

Without further adieu, I present:

The Plunder of Phi VI Alpha

Antonius Hargelle had heard stories of when humanity was confined to the Earth, unable and unwilling to fly through space. He could barely believe those stories, he just couldn't imagine not standing on the deck of a star ship as she plowed through space, propelled by super hot plasma. Antonius--or "Antony" as everyone called him--had been in space ever since he was a child, he father had owned a ship that he used to ferry colonists to the furthest reaches of space. Sometimes the journey to the furthest outposts and colonies took almost a year, so Antony took the trip with his father; as a consequence, he had spent most of his childhood--more accurately most of his life--in space.

Currently, Antony and his team where returning from the planet Phi VI Alpha, an unbelievably harsh world that orbited a gas giant, and thus had two day and night cycles. It had taken them nearly a year to arrive from Earth, but then the ship he had hired certianly didn't have the fastest star drive. It was still hard for Antony to believe what they had discovered on Phi VI Alpha. He had already nearly completed the study for the archaeological journals.