Untitled- For the moment

Mandi

This is the prologue to one of my random ideas that I’ve been working on for a couple months. Who knows how many times I’ve re-written it or if I’ll re-write it again?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Throughout the ages we have existed; hiding from those who hunt us. We are Vampires. Forever we have been hunted by the human death squads, since the dawning of time they have chased us down and slaughtered our kind. We are not the only ones they seek to destroy, just as long as they have been hunting us, they have chased the Werewolves. And while the humans pursue both of our kind, we have fought amongst ourselves. Weres and Vampires battled against each other for dominance and for places of hiding. The battles were fierce and we slowly killed each other off. Our numbers were small, and suffering plagued us all. Then at the turn of the 19th century the leaders of our kinds made a treaty, a cease fire between the Weres and Vampires. We united and went underground. We built a city for all to live in peace and safety from the death squads. For centuries we lived together, fought together and flourished together. Other cities were built and our populations grew. Our underground metropolis had become so large that we covered the whole span of London. We co-existed for many years until we were found, betrayed to the humans. By whom we still don’t know. They invaded our underground world, slaughtering millions and destroying our homes. Now we are nothing but a small group, hiding from the death squads. Many fled, many died, and a small few of us stayed. It is left to us to gather our forces and to battle against our death, to make a place for us to live in safety once again, to destroy those who seek our downfall.

I am Lena and I am a Vampire. This is the story of the battle for our freedom.

Mandi